The Finnish Art Society presents several major awards annually.

Ducat Prize, founded in 1858, is the oldest art award in Finland. It is presented by the Art Society annually to a young Finnish artist under 35 in recognition of special merit.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is awarded to older artists in recognition of significant life’s work.

William Thuring Prizes: The William Thuring Foundation’s main prize and other designated prizes are awarded without application to mid-career artists between ages 35 and 45. On principle, the prizes are awarded annually, and the funds to be awarded are included in the Foundation’s annual donation to the Art Society.

Edvard Richter Award to art critics and writers who write about art replaced the former Literature Award in 2018.

JURY 2018

Ducat Prize, Lifetime Achievement Award, Young Artist Grants:
Antti Tanttu (Chair), Susanne Gottberg, Hanna Johansson, Vesa-Pekka Rannikko, Pessi Rautio

Edvard Richter Prize, Edvard Richter Grants:
Asko Mäkelä (Chair), Heikki Kastemaa, Sini Mononen

William Thuring Prizes:
Lasse Saarinen, Päivi Karttunen