The Finnish Art Society’s Literary Award (1984–2017), given to writers, journalists and illustrators for works that have significantly furthered art literature and recognition of art in Finland, is replaced by the new EDVARD RICHTER AWARD in 2018. The award, €10.000, is given annually to art critics and writers who write about art.

There are several art book awards for the most beautiful books in Finland. The aim of the Edvard Richter Award is to emphasize the importance of writers and critics in making art more recognized and better-known by public.

Books and texts can be sent to the Finnish Art Society’s Literature Board until the end of September. The award is announced in December. The material will not be returned.

Address: Finnish Art Society / Literature Board, Nervanderinkatu 3, 00100 Helsinki

The members of the Literature Board in 2017: Asko Mäkelä (Chair), Heikki Kastemaa and Sini Mononen.

Photo by Patrik Rastenberger: Asko Mäkelä (right) tells about the Edvard Richter award. On the right Ville Hänninen, the winner of the Literature Award 2017, and in the middle Jussi Chydenius, the host of the Finnish Art Society’s Art Lottery Gala 2017.